current exhibition

Press Release Archive




Gallery Project
215 South Fourth Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48104


Dates: February 15 through March 26, 2006

Hours: Tuesday-Thursday, noon-6 pm; Friday and Saturday, noon-9 pm; Sunday, noon-4 pm.
Opening Reception: Friday, February 17, 6-9 pm.



January 4, 2006 - The concepts of Beauty and The Sublime have meant different things in different eras and continue to evolve in art, culture and philosopy. "Beauty, The Sublime and Intensity" investigates these separate but overlapping ideas. While they are strongly linked to historial periods in art and the writings of specific theorists, new and sometimes competing definitions have arisen over time.


In this exhibition, curated by Adrian Hatfield, the included artists consider these ideas as they see fit, without any reference to an imposed standard, real or imagined. As a result, the exhibit presents numerous positions and poses many interesting questions, with the artwork ranging from decorative to political and heavily theoretical. For example, Betsy Brunner creates unique garments that comment on socially imposed standards of beauty, while the overwhelming optical intensity of Bill Hafer's enormous paintings is undeniable in spite of their simplicity. Julie Dummermuth's organic sculptures are formed from tawdry holiday decorations covered in rhinestones. Although they address the cheap commerciality surrounding contemporary holiday celebrations, they are a little too playful andseductive to be entirely damning.


The conceptual exploration suggested through the artwork included in this exhibit is by no means exhaustive; it is a representation of the views of one curator and a small group of individuals. The exhibition's goal is to present some of the richness and relevance of these concepts as they mutate through a dynamic culture.


A full list of the exhibit's artists follows: Rollin Beamish, Kristin
Beaver, Matt Blake, Betsy Brunner, Lisa Choinacky, Christopher Crowder, Rocco De Pietro, Julie Dummermuth, Kevin Ewing, Shawn Finley, Brent Fogt, Bill Hafer, Adrian Hatfield, Christopher Hyndman, Dion Johnson, Evan Larson, Josh Newth, Gloria Pritschet, Enis Sefersah, Clinton Snider, Nichole Tschampel and Carly Witmer.